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For information about purchasing foreclosures in Frisco Texas or in any other location around the DFW area, call 214-336-7088 or e-mail jay@foreclosuresfrisco.com  

Jay A Hendrick
William Davis Realty

8856 Coleman Blvd

Frisco, Texas 75034
Cell: 214-336-7088
Voice/Fax: 972-248-5991

 jay@foreclosuresfrisco.com

www.ForeclosuresFrisco.com

 www.RealEstateDal.com

Member:  NAR  TAR  CCAR

 

 

Before You File for Personal Bankruptcy

 

We have helped clients save thousands of dollars at closing, and you can to. This is an excellent time to buy a bank owned property and not pay the retail value. We will locate and do a the comparative market analysis  on each house, to find you the very best deal.

With so many foreclosures on the market to day, it only makes sense for a homebuyer to take advantage of these opportunities and save on one of our  most expensive life time investment. Walking into a house with built in equity at closing is like depositing free money into a savings account and making interest on it for as long as you own that home.

Some may want to use those savings to add value to the property, maybe add a pool, or use some of it to cover closing cost.

What ever the purpose, if you can buy at a discount, you save money.

Jay A Hendrick

214-336-7088
Voice/Fax: 972-248-5991
 

 

FRISCO FORECLOSURE

 
                                                 

Provided to You by Tom Mackinnon

 Ten Things to Know About Home Mortgages

"Knowing how obtaining a home mortgage works can help you get the best deal and avoid unnecessary anxiety and stress"

Getting a mortgage for a home can be a complicated and stressful process. As with anything else, getting all the information you can before you dive in is a good idea. This report is intended to provide you with information about how a mortgage company works – behind the scenes. Knowing how obtaining a home mortgage works can help you get a better deal and avoid unnecessary anxiety and stress. Here are ten facts you need to know.

Qualifying for a Mortgage

There are several factors that go into determining if you are qualified for the mortgage you want. These factors will also help determine the type of mortgage you get and the interest rate on that loan. These factors are:

 

Your Job – Lenders want to know if you have been in your current job and/or profession for at least 2 years. They also want to know if you are retired or self-employed.

 

Your Income – your gross monthly income (income before taxes). You will need to have 30 days of pay check stubs and W2’s for 2 years to prove your income. If you are self employed, and proving your gross income is difficult, you can perhaps get a “stated income” loan. In that case, your income must be “reasonable” for your profession and you will have a higher interest rate – stated loans are riskier for the lender.

 

Your Credit History – Lenders need to know that you have a history of paying your bills on time. This is reflected in your credit report and score. If you have bad credit, you are NOT automatically disqualified from getting a mortgage, but you may have to pay a higher interest rate – sometimes much higher.

 

Your Debt – You can have a great job with lots of income and great credit, but if you are carrying too much long term debt, you may not qualify for the loan you want. See the next section for more details.

 

Your Assets – Lenders need to know if you have the cash necessary to pay any down payment and closing costs, and that you have “reserves” available to make the loan payment. Usually, the lender will require 3-6 months reserves (this can be in a 401K or other retirement account that you can extract funds from)

 

The Loan Amount You Want – if the loan you want is all out of proportion to your ability to pay, you will not be qualified. Be reasonable in this regard – don’t expect to buy a lot more house than you can afford. This will just make you “house poor” and get you in financial trouble. Lenders would much rather you make your monthly payments – everyone loses if they have to foreclose

 

How the Interest Rate on YOUR Loan is Determined

First, the market place determines the range of interest rates available for any mortgage. This rate range changes daily. The specific rate you will get is based on what you qualify for, and the type of loan you want. Your interest rate is based on:

 

How Good Your Credit Is – as shown in your FICO score from the credit bureaus. The credit score goes up to 850 and anything above about 720 is considered excellent. Bad Credit DOES NOT MEAN you will not get a loan, you may qualify anyway. BUT, you will pay a higher interest rate than someone with better credit.

 

How Much Downpayment You Will Make – the amount of your down payment determines the amount of your loan (purchase price – down payment = loan amount). This is called Loan to Value. See below for more details.

 

How Much Debt You Have – the more debt you have (other than the new loan) the riskier the loan is for the lender. Lenders use “debt-to-income” ratio to determine qualification. See below for more details.

 

The Type of Loan You Want – 40 year fixed, 30 year fixed, 20 year fixed, 15 year fixed, Adjustable Rate, etc. All these loan types have different interest rate ranges.

 

Locking the Loan (or Interest Rate)

Once you have talked to a lender, completed a loan application, determined what type of loan you want, and qualified for that loan, you can “lock” the interest rate for that loan. This means that, for the period of the “lock”, you are guaranteed that interest rate. Lock periods are typically 15, 30 or 60 days, although you may be able to get an extended lock period.

Two Points to Remember: 1) If you do not complete the loan (close) before the lock period expires, you will NOT have a guaranteed interest rate anymore. And, the longer the lock period, the higher the rate will be. For example, a 15 day lock may be at 6.125%, a 30 day lock at 6.25%, and a 60 day lock at 6.375%. So, before locking your loan, be sure you are not locking for too long a time or for too short a time. 2) Interest rates may go up or down in the future, so by locking your rate, you are effectively betting that rates will go up in the future. Please keep that in mind.

 

“Buying Down” the Interest Rate

If you are willing to do so, you can reduce your mortgage interest rate by paying “points” at closing. A point is 1% of the value of the loan, so a point on a $100,000 loan is $1,000, $2,000 on a $200,000 loan, etc. A lower interest rate means lower monthly payments and less interest paid over the life of the loan. But, buying down the rate means more cash out of your pocket up front. Carefully weigh each side of this equation before deciding what to do – you may be able to earn more by investing the money you would use to buy down the rate than you will save in lower monthly payments.

 

Closing Costs & Fees Explained

There are three types of closing costs and fees: those charged by the mortgage company and/or mortgage broker, those charged by 3rd party vendors, and those charged by the title or escrow company or attorney. A good rule of thumb for closing costs is that they will usually be 2.5-3% of the loan amount. If they exceed that for your loan, check each line item on your settlement statement carefully!

Mortgage Company/Broker Fees – these can include loan origination fees and Broker fees (usually a percentage of the loan amount); processing fees, underwriting fees, administrative fees and application fees. These last fees usually run from $100 to $500, and ALL of these are negotiable. The truth is that these are just additional fees that mortgage lenders and brokers charge you to get more of your money.

3rd Party Vendor charges – these are charges collected by the mortgage lender and paid to outside companies that provide a service. These are not usually negotiable and can include appraisal charges, flood certification fees, courier charges, document prep fees, mortgage lender attorney fees, etc.

Title Company charges – these are the fees charged by the title or escrow company. They are usually set by the state and are not negotiable, and include title insurance, attorney fees, state/county/city registration fees, etc.

In addition to all these fees and charges, there are pre-paid charges as well. The buyer will pre-pay taxes and insurance to establish an escrow account (if you are waiving escrows you will need to show proof you have paid the taxes and insurance), and will pre-pay interest on the loan until the end of the month in which the loan closes.

 

Loan To Value Ratio (LTV)

This is the percentage of the value of the house that the mortgage will cover (loan amount divided by purchase price times 100). For example, if the house is selling for $150,000, and you want a mortgage for $120,000 (you have $30,000 for a down payment), the LTV for this is 80%. It is possible to get a loan with an LTV of 100% or greater. Ask your lender about this.

 

A related ratio is Combined Loan to Value (CLTV). This ratio is used when 2 loans (or liens) are used to finance the home purchase. You may see or hear terms like “80-20” or “80-15-5”. This refers to the 1st lien percentage (80), the 2nd lien percentage (20 or 15) and the down payment percentage (5).

 

Debt to Income Ratio (DTI)

This is the percentage of your income that you owe in debt on a monthly basis. For example, if you make $5,000 per month, and have debt payments (car loans, credit cards, student loans, etc.) of $2,000, your DTI ratio is 40%. The higher this ratio is, the less likely you will be to qualify for a low interest rate.

 

Why the Closing Date Matters

The day you close determines the amount of pre-paid interest you will have to pay. The closer to the end of the month the loan closes, the less pre-paid interest you will pay. For example, if you close on March 1st, you will pay 31 days of pre-paid interest. If you close on March 31st, you will pay 1 day of pre-paid interest. But, no matter what day of the month you close on the loan, you will not have your first loan payment due until a month has past. So, if you close in March, your first payment is due in May – you get April for free!

 

Private Mortgage Insurance Explained

Private Mortgage Insurance (PMI) is required on all loans that exceed 80% of the purchase price or home value (whichever is less). Although you pay this insurance premium every month as part of your monthly payment, it does not protect you, it protects the mortgage lender. In case of default on the loan (you stop paying), the mortgage lender is paid a percentage of the loan amount (usually 25% to 35%) by the insurance company.

One GOOD Point about PMI: until December of 2006, PMI payments were not tax deductible for you as the home owner. However, Congress passed a new law in December of 2006 that made PMI tax deductible for all tax payers who make less than $100,000 in income. This means that if you are paying PMI, it may be tax deductible for you!

 

Mortgage Brokers versus Mortgage Lenders/Bankers

Mortgage Brokers are independent businessmen who will shop your loan to many different mortgage lenders. By using several mortgage lenders, Brokers can shop for you and perhaps get you a low interest rate. But, they charge a fee for this service, above and beyond what the mortgage lender will charge. They also have no control over the processing and closing of the loan – they just collect the paperwork from you and pass it on.

Mortgage lenders/bankers have one set of interest rates to offer, so you may not get the lowest rate. But, you will not be paying extra fees, and the loan officer you deal with should be able to control the loan process to some extent – the processing, underwriting and closing happens in their offices and they can easily check on progress.

There are many more things to know about getting a mortgage, much more than I can tell you in this report. But this is a good starting point. None of this information is secret, but many mortgage brokers and lenders would rather you didn’t know it. (They make more money that way).

If you found this FREE Report of value, and want more information, please contact me! I am happy to assist you in any way I can.

 Tom Mackinnon METLIFE HOME LOANS 4000 Horizon Way Irving, TX 75063 Toll Free: (800) 615-0822 ext. 17428 Direct: (214) 441-7428 Email:tmackinnon@metlifehomeloans.com

 

Jay A Hendrick
William Davis Realty

8856 Coleman Blvd

Frisco, Texas 75034
Cell: 214-336-7088
Voice/Fax: 972-248-5991

 jay@foreclosuresfrisco.com

www.ForeclosuresFrisco.com

 www.RealEstateDal.com

Member:  NAR  TAR  CCAR

 

Frisco foreclosures offer a tremendous amount of value but we also service Allen, McKinney, Prosper, Plano, Lewisville, The Colony, Sachse, Wylie, Murphy, Richardson, Carrollton, Flower Mound, and many other areas around DFW.


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